TrailLink - Bike Trails & Maps

TrailLink - Bike Trails & Maps

By Rails-to-Trails Conservancy

  • Category: Travel
  • Release Date: 2013-11-11
  • Current Version: 1.6.3
  • Adult Rating: 4+
  • File Size: 64.70 MB
  • Developer: Rails-to-Trails Conservancy
  • Compatibility: Requires Android / iOS 10.0 or later.
Score: 4
4
From 815 Ratings

Description

TrailLink, powered by Rails-to-Trail Conservancy, is the ultimate trail-finder app for all outdoor enthusiasts. Download TrailLink today to enjoy full-length trail descriptions, reviews, photos, and detailed trail maps not found anywhere else! TrailLink is powered by Rails-to-Trails Conservancy (RTC) expert trails database which offers unique trail-finder functionality for more than 30,000 miles of multi-use trails. The TrailLink app also offers in-app purchases for RTC's detailed offline trail maps which can now be downloaded in the TrailLink app to fully empower your on-the-trail adventures! Take TrailLink with you and let Rails-to-Trails Conservancy be your expert guide out on the trail. Try it out and register today to get your first map for free! TrailLink offers in-app purchase map bundles which allow you to download RTC's detailed trail maps for offline use at 3 maps for $1.99, 7 maps for $3.99, or 15 maps for $7.99 to fully empower your on-the-trail adventures! Or, if you prefer, you can purchase the Unlimited subscription in the app directly through your iTunes Account for $29.99 for 12 months of unlimited offline map downloads. The TrailLink Unlimited subscription will automatically renew for $29.99 after 12 months unless you cancel your subscription at least 24hrs before the end of the current subscription period. You can cancel at any time and manage your subscription, including turning off auto-renewal, in your Account Settings. Plus, your purchase helps support to the mission of Rails-to-Trails Conservancy! To view TrailLink Terms of Use policy, please visit: https://www.traillink.com/terms-of-use/ To view Rails-to-Trails Conservancy's Privacy Policy, please visit: https://www.railstotrails.org/privacy/ Rails-to-Trails Conservancy's GIS mapping initiatives have produced more than 30,000 miles of highly accurate trail maps which include tens of thousands of amenity waypoints such as parking lots, trailheads, tunnels, restrooms, drinking fountains & much more — all available for download in the TrailLink app! TrailLink will allow you to: •Search for trails near you or by location •Search for trails on the map •Read RTC's expert trail descriptions •Read and write trail reviews •Save your trail favorites •Upload trail photos •Share trails with friends •Download RTC's trail maps for offline use •See your location on the trail •Generate driving directions •Find restrooms, parking & much more •Sync your account with TrailLink.com •Support the mission of Rails-to-Trails Conservancy! Download TrailLink today and let RTC guide your way!

Advertisment

Screenshots

Reviews

  • Convenience of having a trail map with u is worth the minor cost

    5
    By Tedy14624
    Cudos to the developer for making these maps convenient to have with you
  • not great, but huge potential

    2
    By AaronCLE
    This app has so much potential. It does help me locate a new trail, but there are things that can be much better: 1) when I click a location, sometimes it shows more info and other times it opens in google maps. It is not clear when you’ll get it to open in maps for driving directions and is sometimes impossible to figure out. There should be a clearly defined “open in maps” icon. 2) When maps does open, it does not open in my phone’s default mapping software (Apple Maps) and always opens in google maps. This is terribly inconvenient because when I use my phone to navigate in my car, I use CarPlay for instructions on the large console. Google maps only works on my tiny phone screen. Please update the app to open each device’s default map software, the. I can choose to default to Apple Maps, Google Maps, Waze, or whatever the user wants. 3) When I signed up on TrailLink, I donated $50. Then when I went to the app on my phone, I discover that I have to pay another $30 to get access to the maps. This was super frustrating because I had just given you $50, and had I known up front it was another $30 just to use the app, I would have donated less and then paid the $30 for the app. These two things should be better explained, or ideally fully integrated. 4) The “trails near me” feature only shows a random trailhead on the trail and not the actual trail path. This makes it difficult to actually know what is near me, or where I might want to hop on the trail. Please just display the trails on the map. This app has so much potential. Please make it easier to use.
  • Just some trails, not good for hiking maps

    1
    By Happyface-v2
    This app has very limited maps of hiking or walking trails. They have many rules around what maps they have which is a really bad business practice. Why would I look at an app that shows me a fraction of trails?
  • Can’t see the benefit

    1
    By ExMacLife
    All this seems to be is a listing of nearby trails. You can find that online for free. Supposed to get a free map for registering. Keeps saying there is a problem redeeming the map. No map credits show. Without the free map no way to test this app to see if it is at all useful. Not going to pay for a map only to find out it’s no different than the dozens of other apps out there or, again, than the multitude of free resources available online.
  • Please make an iPad native version...

    2
    By Garfield134
    The iPad version is simply a scaled up version of the iPhone version. Very annoying. I tried to write a review for the extension of the Bruce Freeman Rail Trail in Acton, MA, and I was limited to about 3 lines of text without a scrolling capability. I was unable to complete my review because I could not see what I was typing. Too bad, because I was attempting to post a 5 star rating for the trail but the app let me down. The app also only works in portrait mode 😕 which is VERY annoying. Perhaps these issues are why I had removed the app from my iPad (I needed to re-download the app to post a review). Please fix it!
  • Glitches

    1
    By acbrannick
    Very frustrating. Agreed to pay the $7.99 for “15 credits” to download maps. After I pay, the app crashes and says it failed and try again. I have tried several times to delete the app and re-download without success.
  • Poor Execution

    2
    By JPKelliher
    This app has a ton of potential, but it is put together poorly. First, there is no free online version as the app make it out to be. You get one quick view of a trail before you are asked to buy these trail maps if you want to see them again. Additionally, there is not way to link the trails together either. If you want to plan a ride, you can’t even connect multiple trails to set up a planned treck. Lastly, I am all for app developers making a living, but most of their data is crowd sourced and then they want you to pay a ridiculous amount to access the maps that users have supplied. I deleted the app within 30 minutes of use. Save the space on your phone. Save your money and use the MapMyRide app. Update 4/6/2017: the developer responded, as you can probably see below. However their response is inaccurate. I still cannot access any maps, on or offline. I am prompted to purchase any view of any map, even while online. And sure, they probably edit and update the details that they post about their trails, but there trail photos, and descriptions are definitely crowd sourced. Unless TrailLink can honestly post on this review that they PAY every person that has tracked and shared their GPS path for these trails, they are crowd sourcing. And there is nothing wrong with that, but charging end users $0.70 a map for content that was clearly shared by other users is WRONG. I encourage everyone that has shared a photo on this app to request payment for their services or pull down their photo and impress copyright infringement against TrailLink for making money on your photography without royalties.
  • Reliability is an issue

    2
    By RocketMan2016
    Keeps kicking me out of the app. On top of the pay per trail pricing model I’m probably going to look elsewhere for a trail app 😟
  • Disappointing

    1
    By purple62GM
    I attempted to register using my iPad, but hesitant as it offers receive your first map for free when you register. The app does not allow to open the registration field fully, so impossible to complete info beyond zip code. I sought out a couple familiar trails to see how the FREE app worked. All it did was spin the wheel at the top. I was already suspicious with the free map offer. Unable to open any map... NOT FREE, don't advertise as such!
  • Waste of Money

    1
    By MDOV
    Paid to download maps but a glitch caused a double charge. Went to download map and app keeps freezing so I can't get access to maps I paid to download. Contacted developer 2x and have received no response.

keyboard_arrow_up